The open-source textbook (or, What I’m thinking about proposing for THATCamp SE) » Kris Shaffer

See on Scoop.itCalling All Lecturers

Over the past year, I have been building an open-source, online, multimedia textbook for the four-semester course Musicianship sequence that I teach at Charleston Southern University. I began simply enough by creating materials for my students to supplement their textbook.

Karen Johnson‘s insight:

I (cautiously) like this idea, I think it would make a good proposal for THATCamp.  As those who know me know, I am a supporter of open access and open source but I had never thought of them in these terms before, "Open-access promotes consumption. Open-source promotes consumption, derivation, re-creation—in other words, hacking. Or in still another word, scholarship." 

See on kris.shaffermusic.com

Leave a Reply

