Tomorrow’s plans

I’ve sent off the first draft for both the ebook guide and the Online/OER Resources Guide to my boss. Now I just have to wait and see if there are any changes to be made before they are passed up the chain. Unfortunately that means that I no longer have any excuses not to tackle the PIDs 😦 So I guess that is what will be on the work plan for tomorrow. I’ll probably shoehorn in some time to keep up with the copyright arguments as well.

I’ve been keeping up-to-date with what’s going on in the copyright world – blogged a bit about this on my other blog. It is really difficult as an educator to find your way through the maze of copyright law, one rather feels like despairing and just refusing to do anything traceable just in case you have mistakenly done something wrong. I can understand arguments from both sides of the divide, I can even (to my surprise) understand the point of view of publishers. What I continue to have difficulty with is the completely stupid Law, or may be I should say the interpretation of the Law. As I’ve said elsewhere, it feels as if the Law is just trying to make us all into criminals. If anyone is interested in all these arguments around copyright then do follow ⌗copyright in Twitter. Do read this letter from Leigh Harrison on The 1709 Blog and don’t forget the comments, all very interesting. I think copyright and copyright law might be one of the things to discuss on the webinars I want to get started.

Getting the webinars sorted out is one of the other things I must start on tomorrow. I will have to try setting things up with WizIQ so I’d better talk to my friends in the Learning and Teaching Technology Unit for info on how to access it. It will be interesting to see how these webinars work out – they are a test, a sort of thermometer – just how hot is the desire to start doing things online. Do people really want to learn new stuff or, as some sceptical colleagues believe, do people say they don’t have time to attend face-2-face sessions just as an excuse. I want people to experience webinars so they start using them for themselves for uni meetings, external collaborations as well as for teaching. I hope people do join in, it’s a marvellous opportunity to work smarter. I’ll let you know how I get on with WizIQ – may be I’ll record it 🙂

Leave a Reply

